I just wanted to let everyone know a little bit about how service dogs work. I have found the majority of people do not know, and everyone thinks I am a trainer because I do not look sick. You do not need to look sick to require a service dog, you need to be disabled, but so many disabilities are not seen.

I had gotten my dog from the pound. The likelyhood of a dog from the pound passing as a service dog is not high, it is actually low, but it does happen. A service dog must pass a health test, behavior test, training, how they behave in the public and so on. A service dog can never be taught to alert you before you get ill, not all dog's know how. It is just something that happens, and only some can learn, or teach themselves. Service dog organizations use breeds that have been bred by previous service dogs that worked, and hope the new dog will alert you. All they teach the dog is how to help you if you are sick.

For instance a seizure dog is taught to lay you on your side after the seizure in case you vomit and can be taught to call 911, among other things. My dog is taught to "go get" my meds, a person by name, or anyone, things that will help with my life threatning allergy. When an attack comes on my blood pressure drops and I can not stand up or I will pass out, so I have a voice and hand signals to give if I can't breathe to go get my meds. My dog was not taught to alert me. Once we knew he knew we trained him, we taught him how to tell me.

I found out he knew by the fact he was terrified for me and would not leave me alone, then he grabbed my Epi-pen and gave it to me once, he had been watching what I do to recover. Next I had to hide all the Epi-pens so he would not get hurt. So one day when I had left and come back he got a box of Benadryl from my bedroom, shredded the box, took out the aluminum capletes and put them right at the front door for me to step on when I walked in. So it was clear he knew, his complete training took only two months tops.